EEEEE-eeeee-EEEEE-eeeee…

May 27, 2008

Driving home from the Post Office and Walgreens this afternoon, the car radio was playing Carrie Underwood’s “Last Name.” This is the song where the girl decides to go out and party, gets drunk, and wakes up the next morning in bed with a stranger, with both of them wearing matching wedding rings. “What have I done? What have I done? I don’t even know my last name! My Mama would be so ashamed!”

Great song.

When it ended a loud commercial came on punctuated by an even louder siren. I immediately turned down the radio and looked around and in my mirrors to see what was coming up where. And of course, there was nothing.

Not even a siren.

It was the damn stupid-ass commercial.

I turned up the radio again and the idiot was still screaming at me that I should buy a new Aveo and get a years’ worth of gas for free. As if. What are they thinking? People hear the siren and turn the damn radio down to see what’s going on. And they miss the message, or in my case, they get a little judgmental.

On the other hand, maybe they think they’re clever. If I had a wreck because of them, I might have to get another car.

But you can bet it wouldn’t be one of theirs.

One Response to “EEEEE-eeeee-EEEEE-eeeee…”

  1. Liz Says:

    I agree entirely – despise any radio commercials with sirens or honking horns…


Leave a Reply

