“How Long Will Your Luck Hold Out?”

August 17, 2008

Back in 2007 I filed a change of address for Mom’s apartment to send the mail from there to my house. Since then, I’ve been receiving Mom and Dad’s mail, plus the occasional stray pieces for Mike and even one for Liz. Now that it’s been a year since Dad’s death and almost that amount of time since Mom’s, the stream has dwindled down to a trickle, nearly all junk mail. Nearly all of that is charitable solicitations.

For a time, I had printed a sheet of labels with this message:

Deceased 2007
Return To Sender
Please Remove From Mailing List

These would be stuck on the front of the envelopes and dropped back into the mail. The junk mail kept coming, but slowly became less. After those labels ran out, I started writing the same message on the enevlope with a big black Sharpie marker, being sure to cross out my address and the bar code printed below. Every week I still receive a few pieces of this mail, and if there is a return address, I send it back.

Last week, a Macular Degeneration charity sent an envelope and I duly wrote the message on it and got ready to mail it back, and then I noticed this message from them printed in big, big letters above Mom’s name on the envelope: “How Long Will Your Luck Hold Out?”

I know any normal person would have been offended, but I just started to chuckle, and then I laughed out loud, all the while drawing an arrow on the envelope from their question to my answer, “Deceased 2007.” I think Mom would have laughed, too.

Then I showed it to Freddie, we both laughed, and I took it to the mailbox.

2 Responses to ““How Long Will Your Luck Hold Out?””

  1. Zorya Says:

    I think she would have chuckled, too.

  2. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

