Soundtrack

September 17, 2008

I just got back from the Post Office, and I’ll be writing about that trip later.  We want to go out to dinner, but we have to get going soon because the curfew kicks in at 6 p.m.  Like many communities here, Pearland has a curfew now because of the power outages and safety/security concerns.

In the car I was listening to the radio and I heard one of the saddest songs of the year, Carrie Underwood’s “Just A Dream.”  It’s the story of a young woman who was to be married.  She is going to the church, but instead of a wedding, she attends a funeral for her soldier fiance.

I don’t know if it’s proper to compare the loss of a person, particularly a soldier who died in a war, to the loss of a home.  On the other hand, to the extent that homes have a sort of personality and a ton of emotional attachment, perhaps we can allow for it.

Carrie sings:

Baby why’d you leave me
Why’d you have to go?
I was counting on forever, now I’ll never know
I can’t even breathe
It’s like I’m looking from a distance
Standing in the background
Everybody’s saying, he’s not coming home now
This can’t be happening to me
This is just a dream

Sigh.

I can’t keep track of genres anymore.  They call this country, but to me it sounds like the pop music of all my younger years. Anyhow, the country music stations are the only ones where I can reliably find a song I can sing along with.

Back when I was a boy, there was another country-pop song that merges the subjects at hand, soldiers, love, death, and yes, the Coast.  Perhaps it’s time for someone — Jimmy Buffet and Kenny Chesney are particular favorites on the Island — to record a charity relief and recovery remake of “Galveston.”

Galveston, oh Galveston
I am so afraid of dying
Before I dry the tears she’s crying
Before I see your sea birds flying
In the sun, at Galveston

One Response to “Soundtrack”

  1. Keith Says:

    For me, the song was a Pete Fontain rendition of “Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans” which I listened to way more often than I should have back in those days when we really had no idea what was left of New Orleans.

    Songs can be great for getting our emotions out of us. There is an amazing amount of grief to be experienced over places and possessions.


Leave a Reply

