Election Day: The Winner Takes It All

November 4, 2008

In my family we had a little discussion last weekend about songs that could be parodied for the Election.  Now that the day has finally arrived, now that we’ll soon know the results, ABBA’s The Winner Takes It All seems most appropriate.


Viewable here.

I read earlier this year that ABBA is John McCain’s favorite group.  Their song Take A Chance On Me was played at his introduction at several events earlier this year.  ABBA is one of my favorites, too, and one of Freddie’s.  I actually bought all the albums they released in the U.S. when I was growing up.  Freddie used to dance to their music in the gay clubs in Florida, Dallas, and Indy back in the early ’80s.  Last year he gave me a boxed set of all their albums, extra singles, videos, and documentary footage.

McCain and I might not have much else in common, except that my father was a military officer who flew into Viet Nam, and McCain flew there, too.  If Dad were around today (and not suffering from dementia) he’d probably vote for McCain.  In some ways, he reminds me of Dad, in other ways not.  But I didn’t vote for him; I voted for Obama.

I hope we won’t get to the point of “the judges will decide, the likes of me abide,” to lift a couple of lines from the song that might have been better for the 2000 Election.  What we can count on is that “the game is on again,” even as the dust is not yet settled from this go-round.

Leave a Reply

